Private and Public Thoughts

I don't post much of my writing in the public as I would like to. To me, there is nothing better than to open up a notebook, pull out a pen, and start writing to my hearts content. Most of the time these are just small, private ideas or thoughts that need to get out of my head. So I lay them down on paper and can comfortably walk away afterwards. I've always thought of this blog as being a place where I can write a more detailed analysis about whatever it is I am thinking about and apply my mind to understanding it in greater detail. 

Lately, that has been with three things: Bitcoin and it's applications with the world around us (not just the financial world), The Internet of Things (I just ordered some Arduino supplies like a touch screen. Learning how the IoT may work seems super exciting to me. I will need to purchase some sensors soon too.) And finally, functional programming. In fact, I have been throwing myself head first into an online course given at the University of Washington called "Programming Languages". I love this course and I love what I am learning in it. The best way to describe it is like this: In order to learn a language like English, we must first understand the analysis of how it works. What is a verb? A noun? An adjective? And how do these elements effect the language? We can move forward from there. This class works in much the same way. What is the languages syntax? In other words, how do the various parts of the language work? Does it type-check? Do we understand the semantics of the language? Finally, does it evaluate? What do the expressions in the language evaluate too? I have been learning so much that it is very overwhelming at times. But it in order to learn, we must keep moving forward one step at a time.

Now is the best time as any to start putting more of my thoughts out there in public. And writing about something can really help analyze and clarify any elements of our thought process that we are not sure about. So that is my resolve, to start clarifying my thoughts in more of a public space.