One API to rule them all.

A few months ago I wrote about how API's could be used as a personal key that will give access to various platforms that people belong to and sell their products or services through. I still strongly believe that this is a good idea especially in lieu of so many people using different platforms to make money. (Think everything from Etsy to Uber or even how musicians and artists could benefit from having one with streaming platforms like Spotify). But another function of an API that I hadn't thought of is getting rid of layers of management. I ran across this post today which talks exactly about using API's in that way.

What is interesting to me is what the possible ramifications of this could be. People are already starting to get worried about automatons taking over the working world, but I don't think it's as cut and dry as that. Although I do think that more jobs will be automated in the future, I would argue that was going to happen no matter what. Technology is snowballing in that direction regardless. But somebody will need to work with this type of software and those people will have to be trained with new skills. Ultimately, most autonomous software isn't even completely autonomous. It needs the feedback of a human who is trained properly to work with it. This is where the ultimate synergies will reside; where human beings and machines will work together seamlessly and augment one another. This also gets me thinking about what types of new jobs there will be in the future that we can't even fathom right now.

So as API's and software start digging away at different layers of management, it will be those who know how to work with that software that will be the better off. I am also curious as to what kinds of scenarios will be possible if  or when this type of system is in place. Much to think about.