Constraint

"I’m of the opinion that most investors would be better off making fewer decisions and getting rid of any unnecessary clutter from their portfolios and investment process. Placing constraints on yourself is a great way to do this. The first step is understanding yourself and your own flaws, something that’s not as easy as it sounds, since the easiest person to fool is often yourself."

Ben Carlson on Placing Constraints on Yourself


This quote is directly related to the markets and it is excellent advice too. I think it's under appreciated in most all areas of our lives as well. Cluttered thinking and action can lead anyone down a vicious cycle and constraining your thought process and approach can help alleviate some of the unwanted pain. I've been finding myself a bit more active on the investment side of things in my life lately and this advice hits home to me. What I've discovered is that learning one particular area of investment suits me well once I understand the long term effects of such a process. It isn't easy but it is definitely worth it.